Driver loaded/connected; DeviceIoControl x86 ok but x64 fails with access denied.

I’m new to driver development and have just created a barebones driver that does nothing but return a few ‘yes I’m here’ bytes on an IOCTL command; still unsigned as it’s early development. I’m using Windows 7 for testing as all info suggests it’s less nuts about unsigned drivers. I’m loading the driver after logon via service api. The x86 build works fine; it loads, all calls succeed, and it returns the expected ‘hi there’ bytes in the output buffer. The x64 build, CreateService and StartService report success, as does the CreateFile call to connect to my driver. However, DeviceIoControl fails with GetLastError=ERROR_ACCESS_DENIED and Windows pops up the no unsigned driver box, despite the fact I’ve booted with the ‘Disable driver signature enforcement’ option; this is very odd since an ‘sc query’ shows it as ‘Running’ and if my program has permission to load and start the driver, how can this be denied? This is not a status code my driver code returns under any known circumstances; I have several others for various other error check fails, but not that one, and it performs no security checks-- like I said, dead simple (also, my handler for IRP_MJ_DEVICE_CONTROL only returns statuses I set; it never returns a status set by an external call). These things make me believe the error lies outside of my driver.

Curious about whether I could obtain permission, I started my driver load/test program with another program I made that starts a process as a SYSTEM account impersonating TrustedInstaller. Access denied. I tried one more time with my program using the token from lsass.exe instead as that seems to have even higher permissions (the process can enable the SeCreateTokenPrivilege where the TI one cannot). Access was denied even to this.