Indiscriminately wrapping DriveryEntry and UnloadDriver with FAST_MUTEX

So I’ve been asked to get an old NT driver of ours signed by MS.
This driver was originally written back in 2006 and had been used almost as-is.
The driver is a non-PNP software driver.

I should say first and foremost I’m an application developer (trying to set the readers expectations of my current level of knowledge).

Problem:

While running the HCK tests I ran into the following failure during the Sleep and PNP test.
DRIVER_VERIFIER_DETECTED_VIOLATION (c4)
DV_VIOLATED_CONDITION: IoCreateSymbolicLink should only be called at IRQL = PASSIVE_LEVEL.

Examining the failure via WinDbg I see that we’re attempting to call IoCreateSymbolicLink after calling ExAcquireFastMutex in the DriverEntry function.
This of course is problematic as ExAcquireFastMutex sets the IRQL to APC_LEVEL but IoCreateSymbolicLink expects an IRQL of PASSIVE_LEVEL.

Looking at the source code I see that the original developer wrapped DriverEntry and DriverUnload with a FAST_MUTEX.

Within DriverEntry we’re doing what appears to be fairly standard initialization logic.

1. Create a device object via IoCreateDevice
  2. Create a symbolic link via IoCreateSymbolicLink
  3. Assigning dispatch routines
  4. Assigning unload routine

The DriverUnload function does mostly standard stuff (more on that in a second).

1. Delete the symbolic link via IoDeleteSymbolicLink
  2. Delete the DeviceObject via IoDeleteDevice.

The part I’m unsure of is the following piece of code:

// These are the globals the developer defined.
// They're only used in the DriverUnload routine and are curiously defined as volatile which I find suspicious. 
volatile LONG		s_bRegUnhooking = 0;
volatile LONG		s_lRegEntryCounter = 0;

void RegUnloadDriver(IN PDRIVER_OBJECT pDriverObject)
{
     ExAcquireFastMutex((PFAST_MUTEX)&s_mtxInitializing);
     // Other stuff..

if (1 < InterlockedIncrement((PLONG)&s_bRegUnhooking))