Are the dispatch routines of a simple WDM driver always called at the requestor process context?

Lets say that i have a very simple WDM driver, so its not a filter driver or file system related driver, its just a simple WFP driver for network inspection.

My question is, does my dispatch routine for IRP_MJ_DEVICE_CONTROL specifically, always gets called at the context of the process that called deviceIoControl? Assuming that no other device is attached to my device object.

I’m asking this because i want to send the Event handle from usermode to my driver for synchronization, and was reading this article:

https://www.osronline.com/article.cfm^id=108.htm

So considering that I’m a simple WDM driver and nothing file system related, can i safely go with the approach of sending the handle from user to kernel? Am i guaranteed to be in the correct process context?

Also i should note that the process is always 32 bit but the driver could be 64 bit, so I’m not sure whether the process being under wow64 in case of 64 bit systems could affect the ObReferenceObjectByHandle, considering that the input is a handle for a 32 bit process, given to a 64 bit driver?

Yes. If there are no drivers above you, then your dispatch routines are called in the caller context. Yes, the kernel understands handles from both 32- and 64-bit processes.

1 Like

The user mode event handle technique is horrible and generally unnecessary.
Why not just pend an IOCTL and complete that?
Mark Roddy

1 Like

I have always used the inverted call model, and it’s great for lots of reasons; but I am curious why, exactly, the user mode event handle technique is horrible?

The event handle pattern breaks down for a couple of reasons
1 you have to manage the PKEVENT lifetime now as you will be releasing the object when the process goes away. this leads to many possible run down bugs/race conditions and overall increase of complexity