The right way to update a UNICODE_STRING's value

Hey Everyone,

Long time lurker, first time poster. I’m a hobbyist dev so I apologize if this is a dumb post. I am working on a project that has a requirement which has left me scratching my head. I would greatly appreciate any advice!

I am using a process creation callback (via PsSetCreateProccessNotifyRoutineEx2()) to monitor for the creation of a specific process. The name of the target process, a UNICODE_STRING, is initialized in DriverEntry as a test value via RtlInitUnicodeString(). I would like to give the user of my application to change the name of the application being monitored via an IRP. While implementing this, however, I have run into significant issues when trying to update the global UNICODE_STRING despite my best efforts at mitigating what I believe to be the core issue.

Here’s my code stripped of irrelevant lines:

// header.h  
UNICODE_STRING g_TargetFileName;
// driver.c  
NTSTATUS DriverEntry(PDRIVER_OBJECT pDrObj, PUNICODE_STRING pRegPath)  
{  
    <...>
    // Initialize the global variable to track the target process
    RtlInitUnicodeString(&g_szTargetImage, L"my_test_application.exe");
    <...>
}
// ioctl.c
static NTSTATUS UpdateTargetProcess(PDEVICE_OBJECT pDevObj, PIRP pIrp)
{
    <...>
    PWSTR szNewTargetImage = (PWSTR)pIrp->AssociatedIrp.SystemBuffer;
    <...>
    // This is where the bug exists
    RtlInitUnicodeString(&g_TargetFileName, szNewTargetImage);
    <...>
}

Here is what I’ve tried:

Attempt 1: Use RtlInitUnicodeString() to “reinitialize” the value.
Result: No crash but the value placed in the global variable is not populating properly (i.e. the process creation callback never sees processes spawning with a matching name).

Attempt 2: Use RtlInitUnicode() string to initialize a new UNICODE_STRING with the data sent from the user via their IRL. Then use RtlUnicodeString() to copy the new string into the global.
Result: System crash (ATTEMPTED_WRITE_TO_READONLY_MEMORY).