PCI Driver Structure when you have multiple character drivers

I’m fairly new to windows driver writing (I have written a few single function pci hardware drivers (like GPIO), but I have written several Linux drivers). I have been asked to write a driver for a PCI card that uses DMA (scatter gather), the PCI card has 8 independent UART devices. The 8 ports are identical.

In Linux I would normally setup a PCI device and incorporate 8 character devices within it (so it is really just 1 driver but I can create 8 separate device nodes to represent each “port” from user space). But in windows I’m not sure what the best way to do this is… Based on the all the reading I have done, it feel like I should be doing a bus driver with 8 child nodes? But I’m not sure, so I’m hoping for some direction or validation. In addition, if I am doing that how does windows do the deal with the sort of “different” handles to open the ports and control their independent IO? Any direction would be helpful :slight_smile:

Thanks!

The first question you need to answer, is this 8 UART’s sharing one PCI BAR and one interrupt, is it 8 UART’s with separate BAR’s and interrupts, or is it true multi-function device which appears as separate devices? The last one is easy, you don’t need anything besides a function driver for the UART. If it is the separate BAR/interrupt case look at https://docs.microsoft.com/en-us/windows-hardware/drivers/multifunction/