Virtual printer driver help

Hi experts,

Newbie here, so please forgive any egregious demonstrations of stupidity on my part. If I’m missing something obvious, then I’ll gratefully accept pointers (hehe). I’m trying to do something that seems like it should be really simple, and after a good amount of poking around I’m more confused than ever… I’m clearly missing something. Let me explain what I’m trying to do in the simplest way possible. Forgive the length of the post, but I want to be as clear as I can.

Project:

I want to connect a little board (think Arduino or Raspberry PI) to my network, and “register” it as a printer. It is not a printer (it’s an arduino!) but I want it to look like a printer to my windows machines. If I print a (text-only) doc to this device I want the following to happen:

1 - convert the text doc into an XML or similar format, i.e. do some processing on the text information before it is sent
2 - once the processing is complete, transmit it to the arduino virtual printer over the network
3 - the arduino receives this input stream, and simply forwards it as an HTTP message to a server.

I know this is a pretty convoluted thing to do, but I am trying to create a “virtual” printer that can receive a doc from the print spooler but do some virtual tricks with it, rather than print it to paper. It’s possible that I’m trying to re-invent a 21st century fax machine, but there are other parts to this process that I want to get to once I’ve solved this puzzle. Later I will want to incorporate simple black and white images, but that’s a future extension.

Questions:

1- Do I need to actually write a new virtual printer driver?
2- Can I modify the already extensive existing windows printer driver to do steps 1 and 2 above?
3- If so, which driver should I be looking at, and finally
4- Can anyone point me in a direction as to how to do that?