At which layer can I capture TCP SYNC-ACK, the ciphers selected by the server and the client and ser

Hello,
I am writing a WFP kernel mode component and I am still learning about windows filtering platform.
I want to capture certain details about a TLS connection when the TLS connection is being established.
I would like to capture

1. TLS version
  2. The cipher selected by the server (I need to capture the Server Hello at the client for this I guess)
  3. The certificate details
    I would like to know in which layer can I capture this information
    FWPM_LAYER_ALE_FLOW_ESTABLISHED_V4 - will this layer give me the needed information?
    Thanks in advance.

A TLS connection is just a straight TCP protocol. I would think you’d want FWPM_LAYER_STREAM_V4, although you will probably need the FLOW_ESTABLISHED notification so you know about new connections. Remember that TLS can occur on any TCP port.

Thanks Tim.

I was looking at MSDN link https://docs.microsoft.com/en-us/windows/win32/fwp/tcp-packet-flows and I can capture the ciphers which the client sends to the server at FWPM_LAYER_ALE_AUTH_CONNECT_V4. However the server in SYNC-ACK sends the cipher it has selected and also the certificate. I would like to capture that information. Also the TLS version, I did not find this info in any of the ALE layers, especially when the client gets Server Hello message. I thought that FWPM_LAYER_STREAM_V4 will be useful once the handshake is complete. Please let me know if FWPM_LAYER_STREAM_V4 can be used to capture Server Hello message.

… Also the TLS version, I did not find this info in any of the ALE layers, especially when the client gets Server Hello message. I thought that FWPM_LAYER_STREAM_V4 will be useful once the handshake is complete. Please let me know if FWPM_LAYER_STREAM_V4 can be used to capture Server Hello message.