Inverted Call Model right for me needs?

Hi all,

I have a question concerning kernel-> user communication on an event-driven basis. Since I'm just a newbie in driver development I thought up a project that would enable me to learn how it all works:

I'm building a KMDF driver and userland service, the KMDF needs to send the PID of each created process to the userland service which will then do some processing on it. So each time a process is created the userland service needs to be notified and the PID needs to be sent to it, instantly without missing anything. I searched the internet for a while and came across the inverted call model, many say this is the way to go for kernel->userland communication.

I have implemented this, however, I do have some issues with it that I hope you all could clarify:

1. My KMDF driver uses PsSetCreateProcessNotifyRoutineEx and has an IO queue for the IOCTL requests coming from userland
  2. Each time the PsSetCreateProcessNotifyRoutineEx routine is called, my driver will complete a request in the queue and sent the PID in the output buffer
  3. My USERLAND SERVICE has a separate thread where I perform a synchronous DeviceIoControlin in an infinite loop

Now, this all works beautifully, but only if the userland application is fast enough to send a new IOCTL after processing the previous one, so I'm in real risk here to miss out on process creation events if the processing would take longer than normal.

So now for my plethora of questions:

1. Is this a correct implementation of the inverted call model, and what exactly is inverted about this? Because as far as I see it, the userland application needs to send out an IOCTL first (which in my eyes is not event-driven kernel communication)