Method of sending a physical key press upon receiving a simulated keypress

Hi,
I am very new to OSR and general driver programming, so not sure if this is even possible. I’ll cut to the chase.
First - is it possible to write a driver that can listen out for a simulated keypress generated from User Mode (i.e., SendKey or from some python function), then, generate the corresponding “real” keypress event?

The reason for this is I have an assistive tech software (allows for alternate accessible control method) that I need to interface with. One of the methods to do this is to generate an F12 keystroke. However, this program catches and filters out simulated keypress by listening out for LLKBHF_INJECTED flag (LowLevelKeyBoardHookFlag_Injected; 0x10).

I’ve tried doing this via several methods at WinAPI level but none have worked so far - so now I am resorting to this…

Thanks in advance!

Peter

… generate the corresponding “real” keypress event?

Could you please expand it a bit - to be honest, I just cannot imagine how a program may physically push the button…

What you can do here is to emulate a separate kbd stack so that you can simulate a keystroke in the kernel. Certainly, this keystroke is going to end up in exactly the same queue that SendInputs() injects its input to, but this approach is, apparently, going to sort out the issue of LLKBHF_INJECTED flag…

Anton Bassov

petery wrote:

First - is it possible to write a driver that can listen out for a simulated keypress generated from User Mode (i.e., SendKey or from some python function), then, generate the corresponding “real” keypress event?

No.  SendKeys and keybd_event are handled entirely in user mode. They
never travel to the kernel, so there is no place for a driver to get
involved.  Doron is an expert on the input subsystem; perhaps he has
some clever alternative.