Storport virtual miniport and testing in isolation

I am developing a storport virtual miniport and developing a test suite for it at the same time. As I am slowly adding features to the miniport and attempt to test them, a constant annoyance is the partmgr which insists on sending requests thus interfering with my testing.

Is there any simple way to convince the rest of Windows to leave my miniport alone while I am testing it? I would like to be able to send it specific CDB’s via IOCTL_SCSI_PASS_THROUGH_DIRECT and thoroughly check responses for rigorous testing. Partmgr’s own requests alter the state of my virtual device and affect the testing.

I am new to the world of storport miniports so apologies if I am missing something obvious.

Well, it depends on what you want/need to do. What requests from partmgr are bothering you?

Do you need to have a recognized file system or partition on your virtual disk? If not, that would prevent interference, wouldn’t it?

If you really want JUST your own requests you might be able to put a filter below disk class and throw away any requests you don’t like, open that filter and use it to forward your pass-through requests. It’s be quick enough to whip up in WDF that it would be worth a try.

What do you think?

Peter

Peter, thank you for your response.

What I am developing is a miniport that forwards READ, WRITE, SYNCHONIZE CACHE and UNMAP requests to user mode; this is done by placing the aforementioned SRB’s in a queue and a user mode process retrieving them using DeviceIoControl.