NDIS Filter - modifying an adapter's MAC Address

Hi,

I’m new to the NDIS world & started playing around NDIS Filter driver (for learning purpose).

I’ve modified the ndislwf sample & started handling the OID_802_3_CURRENT_ADDRESS (@FilterOidRequest callback). I’m seeing this OID request is called during the initial stage & whenever I open “Network & sharing settings (Win10)”. In the callback, I override with a dummy MAC address & returning NDIS_STATUS_SUCCESS.

The particular code-snippet looks similar to the below code,

NDIS_STATUS
FilterOidRequest(
NDIS_HANDLE FilterModuleContext,
PNDIS_OID_REQUEST Request
)
{
NDIS_OID oid = Request->DATA.QUERY_INFORMATION.Oid;

if (oid == OID_802_3_CURRENT_ADDRESS && Request->RequestType == NdisRequestQueryInformation)
{
		NDIS_STATUS newStatus = NDIS_STATUS_SUCCESS;
		char overrideMac[6] = { 0xAA, 0xBB, 0xCC, 1, 2, 3 };
                    ULONG macAddrSz = 6;

if (Request->DATA.QUERY_INFORMATION.InformationBufferLength >= macAddrSz )
		{
			RtlCopyMemory(Request->DATA.QUERY_INFORMATION.InformationBuffer, overrideMac, macAddrSz );
			Request->DATA.QUERY_INFORMATION.BytesWritten = macAddrSz ;
			Request->DATA.QUERY_INFORMATION.BytesNeeded = macAddrSz ;
		}
		else
		{
			Request->DATA.QUERY_INFORMATION.BytesWritten = 0;
			Request->DATA.QUERY_INFORMATION.BytesNeeded = macAddrSz ;
			newStatus = NDIS_STATUS_INVALID_LENGTH;
		}

return newStatus;
}

But nowhere the new MAC address is reflected (ipconfig /all, getmac, Get-NetAdapters …).

So, is it possible to change an adapter’s MAC address from NDIS Filter driver? If no, what is the purpose of “OID_802_3_CURRENT_ADDRESS”?

Thanks & Regards,
Gokul T V

The easiest way to change a network adapter’s MAC address is with the Set-NetAdapter -MacAddress powershell command.