Windows System Software -- Consulting, Training, Development -- Unique Expertise, Guaranteed Results

More Info on Driver Writing and Debugging


The free OSR Learning Library has more than 50 articles on a wide variety of topics about writing and debugging device drivers and Minifilters. From introductory level to advanced. All the articles have been recently reviewed and updated, and are written using the clear and definitive style you've come to expect from OSR over the years.


Check out The OSR Learning Library at: https://www.osr.com/osr-learning-library/


Before Posting...

Please check out the Community Guidelines in the Announcements and Administration Category.

Current IRQL

Mayank_AjmeraMayank_Ajmera Member Posts: 28
Hi,
Is there a way to find the IRQL at which the dump occured.

What about debugging a live system? Is there a way to find the current
IRQL in the live system?

Thanks
Mayank

Comments

  • OSR_Community_UserOSR_Community_User Member Posts: 110,217
    If the trap code is IRQL_NOT_LESS_OR_EQUAL, second parameter is the IRQL
    level. Otherwise also in your code put KeGetCurrentIrql and print the
    current IRQL on the debugger screen.

    - Vipul
    First Virtual Communications
    3393 Octavius Drive
    Santa Clara, CA 95054
    Ph - (408) 567-7222


    -----Original Message-----
    From: [email protected] [mailto:[email protected]]
    Sent: Wednesday, February 27, 2002 11:37 AM
    To: Kernel Debugging Interest List
    Subject: [windbg] Current IRQL


    Hi,
    Is there a way to find the IRQL at which the dump occured.

    What about debugging a live system? Is there a way to find the current
    IRQL in the live system?

    Thanks
    Mayank

    ---
    You are currently subscribed to windbg as: [email protected]
    To unsubscribe send a blank email to %%email.unsub%%
  • Mayank_AjmeraMayank_Ajmera Member Posts: 28
    I don't want to put KEGetCurrentIrql in my code. Is there some system data
    structure that'll give me the current IRQL throught the debugger?

    Thanks
  • OSR_Community_UserOSR_Community_User Member Posts: 110,217
    Hi,
    The !pcr command has the current IRQL for that CPU.

    Yours
    Roger

    ________________________________________________________________
    Roger Coote,
    Senior Design Engineer
    PowerVR Technologies, A Division of Imagination Technologies Ltd
    Home Park Estate, Kings Langley, Hertfordshire, WD4 8LZ, UK
    phone :+44 (1923) 260511 fax :+44 (1923) 268969
    direct :+44 (1923) 277274
    mailto:[email protected] www.powervr.com
    ________________________________________________________________



    -----Original Message-----
    From: [email protected] [mailto:[email protected]]
    Sent: 27 February 2002 20:36
    To: Kernel Debugging Interest List
    Subject: [windbg] Re: Current IRQL


    I don't want to put KEGetCurrentIrql in my code. Is there some system data
    structure that'll give me the current IRQL throught the debugger?

    Thanks

    ---
    You are currently subscribed to windbg as: [email protected]
    To unsubscribe send a blank email to %%email.unsub%%
  • OSR_Community_UserOSR_Community_User Member Posts: 110,217
    But it does not work.

    --
    Gary G. Little
    [email protected]
    [email protected]

    "Roger Coote" wrote in message news:[email protected]
    >
    > Hi,
    > The !pcr command has the current IRQL for that CPU.
    >
    > Yours
    > Roger
    >
    > ________________________________________________________________
    > Roger Coote,
    > Senior Design Engineer
    > PowerVR Technologies, A Division of Imagination Technologies Ltd
    > Home Park Estate, Kings Langley, Hertfordshire, WD4 8LZ, UK
    > phone :+44 (1923) 260511 fax :+44 (1923) 268969
    > direct :+44 (1923) 277274
    > mailto:[email protected] www.powervr.com
    > ________________________________________________________________
    >
    >
    >
    > -----Original Message-----
    > From: [email protected] [mailto:[email protected]]
    > Sent: 27 February 2002 20:36
    > To: Kernel Debugging Interest List
    > Subject: [windbg] Re: Current IRQL
    >
    >
    > I don't want to put KEGetCurrentIrql in my code. Is there some system data
    > structure that'll give me the current IRQL throught the debugger?
    >
    > Thanks
    >
    > ---
    > You are currently subscribed to windbg as: [email protected]
    > To unsubscribe send a blank email to %%email.unsub%%
    >
    >
  • Mayank_AjmeraMayank_Ajmera Member Posts: 28
    I thought so...
    I have done the !pcr thing and it seemed to show the IRQL as 0, but my
    code was actually running at DISPATCH. I thought maybe I was doing
    something wrong in the debugger or looking at the wrong info.
  • OSR_Community_UserOSR_Community_User Member Posts: 110,217
    I've run !PCR in the middle of an ISR ... and I have never seen IRQL set to
    anything other than 0. Lordy lordy it sure would be nice if it worked,
    however.

    --
    Gary G. Little
    [email protected]
    [email protected]

    wrote in message news:[email protected]
    >
    > I thought so...
    > I have done the !pcr thing and it seemed to show the IRQL as 0, but my
    > code was actually running at DISPATCH. I thought maybe I was doing
    > something wrong in the debugger or looking at the wrong info.
    >
    >
  • OSR_Community_UserOSR_Community_User Member Posts: 110,217
    Someone from Microsoft had once replied to some email in NTDEV, and I remember him saying that entering the debugger itself might change the IRQL. I am not sure what level he mentioned. Check the NTDEV archives.

    Mukul


    -----Original Message-----
    From: Gary G. Little [mailto:[email protected]]
    Sent: Friday, March 01, 2002 8:21 AM
    To: Kernel Debugging Interest List
    Subject: [windbg] Re: Current IRQL


    I've run !PCR in the middle of an ISR ... and I have never seen IRQL set to
    anything other than 0. Lordy lordy it sure would be nice if it worked,
    however.

    --
    Gary G. Little
    [email protected]
    [email protected]

    <[email protected]> wrote in message news:[email protected]
    >
    > I thought so...
    > I have done the !pcr thing and it seemed to show the IRQL as 0, but my
    > code was actually running at DISPATCH. I thought maybe I was doing
    > something wrong in the debugger or looking at the wrong info.
    >
    >



    ---
    You are currently subscribed to windbg as: [email protected]
    To unsubscribe send a blank email to %%email.unsub%%
  • OSR_Community_UserOSR_Community_User Member Posts: 110,217
    This is fixed in a future OS release.

    -Andre
  • Mayank_AjmeraMayank_Ajmera Member Posts: 28
    Can you specify which OS. Right now all the work we do is on NT, so are
    there any service patches available?

    Thanks
    Mayank
Sign In or Register to comment.

Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. Sign in or register to get started.

Upcoming OSR Seminars
OSR has suspended in-person seminars due to the Covid-19 outbreak. But, don't miss your training! Attend via the internet instead!
Writing WDF Drivers 24 January 2022 Live, Online
Internals & Software Drivers 7 February 2022 Live, Online
Kernel Debugging 21 March 2022 Live, Online
Developing Minifilters 23 May 2022 Live, Online